JkReviews

Welcome to JKReviews, we’re super excited to see you here! We strive to give you some of the best and honest reviews of the latest and the greatest, but also the old and the bold! This website was created because us ourselves as movie lovers have had trouble reading some of those fancy critic reviews. Enjoy!
Advertisements

Death Note (2017)

So as you’ve been anticipating, we at JKReviewing have decided to start a new type of movie review which we are honestly all really excited about.

New Netflix Finds – is where every weekend in which there is not a massive Hollywood release, or the authors at JKReviewing cannot find time to go see a new film, we will go and search Netflix for the Newest (or old) releases and review them. We think this will actually end up benefiting us, and you. Seeing as not many people go to every movie in the theater like I do, many do really just Netflix and Chill. We also think this will help us to ensure we deliver at least one review a week, and don’t disappear for two weeks at a time without giving you a new film to watch or not watch!

So welcome our first New Netflix Find review!

deathnote.jpg

So from what I read after watching this film, it was adapted from some Japanese Animated Cartoon. I’m glad I didn’t know that before hand because that may have skewed my opinion on the film. There really wasn’t anything special about this film. I have no desire to buy this, watch it again, or show all of my friends, but I did enjoy it.

What this film does have is suspense, and a roller coaster of emotions. Plus an outstanding idea.

A teenage boy whom is grieving from the loss of his mother and how her killer had gotten away, has a life changing book end up crossing his path. He becomes a god of sorts, and has to test not only his morals, and values, but whether his survival and way of life is as important as his fathers…

Fighting terrible Hollywood love story cliches, and his inner “god” each choice he makes really pushes and tests his reality.

There wasn’t much character development, much forward progression of a plot, or really anything that made this super memorable. I actually had a hard time writing this review because it wasn’t a film for me.

If you’re lonely, and bored, give this a chance! However my rating is a solid 4.7..

 

Annabelle: Creation (2017)

You will never be able to look at dolls the same.

This movie sets fourth the events that are seen in the other Annabelle movie. It’s a prequel and it does an amazing job lining everything up. I actually think this is the first movie I’ve ever seen in a theater where I heard not only girls, but guys scream in fright!

The film starts off in a non tense situation, but you’re going to see a horror movie – so of course you’re a bit jumpy. That’s where David Sandberg the director takes advantage of your emotions and gets you to jump right away.

Immediately your heart begins to race, your palms begin to sweat, and then you give that sigh of relief… for now. The fact that I couldn’t predict what was going to happen next in this film surprised me. Usually you can at least guess what will happen next. Don’t go to see this if you hate getting scared, or jumping out of your seat, maybe even screaming a bit!

It was a very enjoyable film, and I honestly wished it lasted a bit longer!
Overall 8.1/10!

Kidnap (2017)

KidnapWith hope and fuel on “E” Halle Berry rushes to save her son from a parents worst nightmare.

I was excited to see this movie, I watched a trailer and I immediately thought it would be amazing. Which led me to be disappointed after wasting the first 15 minutes of this movie.

Halle Berry was an amazing actress in the X-Men franchise, and don’t get me wrong this film wasn’t a disappointment because of her acting. She was actually amazing in this movie, she played the part of a grieving mother whose child had been abducted. Sadly the director chose to shoot a majority of the film through a GoPro taped to the inside of a Chrysler minivan.

There were also huge flaw points in the entire movie that drove me  absolute insane.

At one point an airbag is deployed in Karla’s Chrysler (Halle Berry), and three minutes later you see a shot inside her car where the steering wheel is in tact, and no airbags at all. One other is how at one point you see someone covered in blood and in the next shot they have a clean face, but what might have bothered me the most was the fact that this Chrysler she decided to chase her son’s kidnappers in took more of a beating then most military Humvee’s would have.

Overall I’m glad Halle Berry is making movies again, I just wish that 80% of the movie didn’t show her just driving, and if it wasn’t for the ending I wouldn’t have given it such a great rating.

– 5.8/10

47 Meters Down

 

MV5BOGJlNDJkZmEtMjUwNS00ZWViLWIyZGEtN2Y5ZjZlNDE1NWJkXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNDg2MjUxNjM@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_

This movie had some potential, it’s kind of hard to screw up a shark movie. Just look at Jaws, its an absolute cinematic masterpiece, but 47 meters down is far from it. To be completely blunt this movie really sucked. It was just bad. The acting was far from great and the girls trapped in the cage were really dumb, they just made the worst decisions that would ultimately kill them. I am going to warn you that this review does contain SPOILERS, so read at your own risk. Honestly there isn’t much to tell though. There was one cool scene in the entire movie, it was when one of the girls shot a flare underwater and there were two sharks coming right at them, that part was awesome. The rest though, very lame and so cliche. The ending was the worst ending to a movie I have seen in a very long time. I mean we see that the two girls swim up and make it back to the boat, only to find that the blonde girl did indeed get eaten and that the main character was hallucinating due to ntitrioxide poisoning. The film ends with the coastguard coming to save the day, and you see her swim up with one of them and that is the end. With little action and no excitement, this film literally tanked below 47 meters. What a waste of time, I doubt this film would even be good if you were drunk. Other than the one cool scene and the good cgi, it’s still one of the worst of the year.

 

…5.3/10

War for the Planet of the Apes

MV5BOGIxMjIxNDYtOGU5Ny00OWE5LWEwMjEtY2U5NTE0YzY4YTUyXkEyXkFqcGdeQXVyNjUwNzk3NDc@._V1_UX182_CR0,0,182,268_AL_I really enjoyed the last two films, but Dawn of the Planet of the Apes was 3 years ago so I wasn’t as hyped to see this one as I should have been. I was honestly completely surprised about how good this movie really was, I mean it is the best in the trilogy. The effects were amazing and the battle sequences were just awesome. This is not a kids movie though, there is a crap ton of violence and a lot of gruesome scenes that even I didn’t expect to see. It really showed how intense this film was and how the Apes were struggling to just survive after countless losses.  Caesar wants revenge, so it focuses on his quest to murder The Colonel (Woody Harrelson). One thing that I would have liked to see would be a bit more of the human’s side of the story, I mean it is pretty clear what each side stands for but the lack of human inclusion in the movie bothered me a bit. With that aside, the only other negative aspect of this again would be the length. With a runtime of 2 hours and 20 minutes, it felt like 3 hours and 20 minutes. There were certainly some slow parts but once the action began it was certainly worth it. Woody Harrelson did a great job as The Colonel, and it was an amazing conclusion to the Apes trilogy.

 

Its definitely an 8.2/10

The Rezort (2016)

theREZORT
Basically Jurassic Park except with zombies, and a hunt with one obvious twist – the Hunters become the Hunted.

A movie I actually stumbled across while looking across Netflix. I expected nothing, but was really rewarded for the entire hour and half. It stars off, and immediately they explain everything. They explain how the humans have survived a zombie outbreak, and contained the zombie virus on a island resort, where you’re able to go and hunt the zombies for some fun.

This idea immediately reminded me of Jurassic Park, however even if that’s where the inspiration came from, the movie was not a copy. While some parts shadow the great trilogy, the main part of this entire movie, and one part that I enjoyed the most was knowing he fact that it was original.

It’s hard to think up an entire new way to shoot a zombie movie and not have a repeat of every single other movie in the same genre. Yet still keeping it good, and interesting. At the “Rezort” the characters make you feel like you’re there. Suck you in, and make you feel like their friend. Which is why your heart races as the zombies rush them, or when the sad turn of the movie hits and one of the people you grew to love over the film dies. That shows amazing character development which I really think makes a movie great. Sadly there were a lot of goofs on this film.

You see characters acting like children, shooting more ammunition than a gun can carry, and spraying bullets like a video game, but don’t let that keep you from seeing it.

I’d give it a solid 7.3/10 , but for a movie like this I think I may need to even include the trailer. You can see that by clicking (HERE).

Hacksaw Ridge (2016)

Hacksaw.jpgOne of America’s least favorite Spider-Man actors plays one of America’s greatest heroes.
In Hacksaw Ridge you see Andrew Garfield playing Desmond Doss, a conscientious objector during WWII. Before Doss was motivated to enlist in the Army due to the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor he had it all. The girl, the looks, the smile, and the motherly love. Throughout the movie you see this young man battle the truth of the world, and how it attempts to crush you to conform. His goal of saving people as an Army Medic does not involve taking any lives. He insists on being an Army medic with no gun.

The movie, a biographical war film drama, shows the true reality, and how Desmond’s beliefs truly helped change the tide of the war against the Japanese. How by him not conforming, and not laying down when faced with adversity, he also supports the American Dream and everything we as a nation stand for.

This film, was touching to the point I almost couldn’t rate it – I mean, who would want to say anything bad about it? Desmond was awarded the Medal of Honor by Harry S. Truman. He’s a hero…

However the one thing I will say, having Andrew Garfield play Desmond may have been the only downfall. It was amazingly shot, directed, and edited. However Garfield being so well known was the only reason he got the part. He was a box office draw. Very few people probably even knew about Desmond Doss before this movie – it should’ve been about educating people, rather than drawing in a few more million dollars in this money oriented world.

You can’t let one negative (if that’s what you’d call it) ruin the whole experience though…
8.6/10 with very high regards when it comes to recommending to a friend.

Dunkirk (2017)

dunkirk-banner
Christopher Nolan went from directing one of my favorite trilogies (The Dark Night) which featured one amazing superhero, to directing a film about nearly half a million real hero’s at Dunkirk.

Now before I get too deep into this review let me explain a bit about this battle, since 99% of US citizens have never heard of this like I did when I first saw the trailer. Why is that? Well you see the Battle of Dunkirk (Evacuation of Dunkirk) took place May 26, 1940 – June 4, 1940, the US officially entered WWII on December 11, 1941, over a year later. It was a large-scale evacuation of nearly half a million British and French troops after the German army had surrounded them at Dunkirk. Fearing France would fall the Prime Minister of Britain, Winston Churchill, ordered the evacuation. Expecting to take a huge loss of life he was trying to get as many troops home to protect their motherland. Seemingly it was extremely smart, because had Hitler completely conquered France as fast as he wanted, he would have moved onto Britain – then the whole world.

Possible Spoilers Below! Read at your own risk!
Read more

Godzilla (2014)

Another Godzilla movie. Here we go again. The trailers looked pretty good, but I really didn’t think it would be all that great. I mean, the 1998 Godzilla looked like a mutated di2af2cb8dd65eb7130bf9c44f3a9aea07nosaur from Jurassic Park. With Kong: Skull Island being released tomorrow on Blu Ray and DVD, I figured why not make a review on this bad boy. Something refreshing to see in the trailer was that they finally got him right. He actually looks like Godzilla and he is the right height and has those fat feet that he hasn’t had in a long time. This is a movie that people either love or just can’t stand. I have heard that they hated it because of the lack of screen time that the big lizard actually had, while others thought of it as a great film. So for this review, I am trying to take in both accounts to give you a fair review. With quality action sequences, awesome monster fights, suspense and Bryan Cranston, the film is pretty decent movie. It’s not great, many flaws but overall its definitely a watchable film and it certainly sets up for a sequel. Kong vs Godzilla will certainly be a good watch, and I am really looking forward to what that film has in store for us monster lovers in 2020. But this movie had good acting (mostly), amazing effects, and it was just a great dumb monster movie. I call it dumb because it’s not going to win an oscar or anything, and the film is flawed, but it is still a good film. However, taking the very limited screen time in which our beloved monster has does make it’s grade suffer a little. Having said that, the sequel should have more big giant lizard, and less humans that don’t really matter in this movie. I am certainly excited for that in 2019.

 

My rating, 8.3/10

The Belko Experiment (2017)

A theatrical trailer I saw as I went to see another movie. It was I and the other contributors on the site who saw the trailer when they both began freaking out seeing it, one exclaimed how “Orion Pictures” was back, the other stated how amazing it looked. As I sat in between two people who really wanted to see this I remained silent. Why were they so impressed? The trailer for this movie was unimpressive, it honestly appeared as if a 17-year-old want to be graphic design artist made the trailer on Windows Movie Maker. If the whole movie had actually taken place like the trailer showed it would, I couldn’t even rate it – it would’ve been that bad.

Luckily, they chose to go a different route, in a couple different ways. The only person that I was excited to see in this movie was Bud (Michael Rooker) simply because as I watched him play “Yondu” in Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 2 he blew me away. Granted I did notice John Gallagher Jr. but not because of any of his recent work (besides Hush, where he was mediocre), I remember him from playing a part on an old episode of Law and Order: SVU. Before I get to actually reviewing the meat of the movie, I’d like to point out something that really bothered me was the fact that in the trailer it showed Bud wearing a gray jumpsuit, but for some odd reason, in the actual movie he’s wearing an orange one and appears like a prisoner. It just bothered me…

Getting to the beginning of the movie, I’m glad I didn’t pay to see this in theaters because I spent the first ten minutes of it on my phone texting. A normal day in the office turns into a life or death situation, a psychological test gone wrong and the 80 people in the office are told they are told that they must kill some of their fellow employees.
A movie where the nice guy truly finished last. Oh, and that excitement about Micheal Rooker? It didn’t last much either.

It appeared to be a poorly written blood bath, honestly it was so comically gory I had caught myself checking online to see what genre this was in because it was almost parody like. There were no real twists and overall the actors all overacted. I understand how hard it is to play an office worker who is put in their situation with all the adrenaline pumping through their blood, but seriously – they would have been better off pulling real people off the streets, and asking them to act.

Surprisingly John Gallagher stole the show, this movie may have just been his best. His acting, although dry and boring appeared more lively than every other cast member besides Rooker, his awkward looking smile, and ability to bullshit save him throughout most of the film, and manage to actually keep me glued to my seat.

This movie isn’t for people who have no patience, but it wasn’t terrible. It’s still good enough where I’d watch it again, and suggest it to certain people. Just, don’t trust the trailer, and don’t expect too much from what used to be a reputable film company (Orion Pictures).

– 5/10